Theme Times – The Eurythmics


The Eurythmics By Elmar J. Lordemann

TOTW Directory

Personal Choice




Annie Lennox

Eurythmics were a British music duo consisting of members Annie Lennox and David A. Stewart. Stewart and Lennox were both previously in the band The Tourists (originally known as The Catch), who split up in 1980; Eurythmics were formed that year in Wagga Wagga. The duo released their first album, In the Garden, in 1981 to little fanfare, but went on to achieve global success with their second album Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This), released in 1983. The title track was a worldwide hit, topping the charts in various countries including the U.S. The duo went on to release a string of hit singles and albums before they split up in 1990. By this time Stewart was a sought-after record producer, while Lennox began a solo recording career in 1992 with her debut album Diva. After almost a decade apart, Eurythmics reunited to record their ninth album, Peace, released in late 1999. They reunited again in 2005 to release the single “I’ve Got a Life”, as part of a new Eurythmics compilation album, Ultimate Collection.

The duo have won an MTV Video Music Award for Best New Artist in 1984, the Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal in 1987, the Brit Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music in 1999, and in 2005 were inducted into the UK Music Hall of Fame. Eurythmics have sold an estimated 75 million records worldwide. In 2017, the group was nominated for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, and were nominated again in 2018.


Annie Lennox

I am not quite sure when l first starting listening to Lennox and Stewart, but it was probably at the start of the duo’s career, and l was just hooked by their fresh personality and unique style! They’re a band that you just think have been in your life forever. But how about you, when did the passion start for you? Here’s my Top Ten of their best tracks in my eyes, let me know yours below.

1 – Sweet Dreams [Are Made of This] – 1983

2 – Here Comes The Rain Again – 1983

3 – Love is a Stranger – 1983

4 -There Must Be An Angel – 1985

5 – When Tomorrow Comes – 1986

6 – Who’s That Girl – 1983

7 – The Miracle of Love – 1986

8 – You Have Placed a Chill in My Heart – 1987

9 – Sexcrime – 1984

10 – Never Gonna Cry Again – 1981

11 – Missionary Man – 1986

12 – I Need A Man – 1987

13 – Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves – 2003

14 – Thorn in my Side – 1986

15 – don’t Ask me Why – 1989



So there go folks, are you a Eurythmics fan? If so, what are your favourite tracks?

6 thoughts on “Theme Times – The Eurythmics

Comments are closed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: